2017: The power of ‘yes’

This year is better known as the year of taking ‘L’s. We’ve seen the surge of political higgi haga, multiple celebrity deaths and ongoing violence and corruption.  So I guess we’re all gasping for a ‘fresh start’ in 2017.

Every year the ‘new year, new me’ brigade join forces to delude themselves. Dont get me wrong; there’s nothing wrong with wanting to better yourself. Just be realistic in your thought process. Change doesn’t happen overnight. When the clock strikes 12, you’re more likely to turn into a pumpkin than a princess. The reality is your potential is far greater than your drive and at that point change is not likely to occur.

The thing one needs to do in order to challenge their ‘old ways’ is to change your mindset AND your drive. The age old saying ‘good things comes to those who WORK FOR IT’ comes to mind.. Don’t allow January 1st 2017 be the only day you’ve followed through on your whimsical choices. Turn that whim into a full proof plan.

Personally, ive reflected on my 2016 and I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to channel the power of yes. So often, the ‘motives’ that are presented to me I dismiss out of pure laziness. Ergo missing opportunities to spend time with loved ones. However, thinking about it now, it is always the same sort of events and so maybe that’s why I decline the offer? I’ve realised that I want my 2017 to be about experiencing new things. Whether that may be via travelling or simply changing the scene. From going to the cinema; to enjoying a theatre show. Swapping the time spent at Starbucks to enjoying a bookshop cafe. But in order to do that, I have to adjust my everyday attitude to life. Say yes more often, stop complaining for a day and I’m sure I’ll witness life become more spontaneous and adventerous.

I was never the type of person to do something everyday. Other than working, I would often leave my affairs to the weekend. We often work so hard that we neglect who we are and wait until Friday to enjoy life. ‘Me time’ is an important concept that we take for granted. If you’re not working, you’re probably staring at a laptop or phone screen. When was the last time you pampered yourself, ate clean or done something for the first time? If 2016 has taught us anything, it’s that life is too short to spend living for the wifi password. Yes, I understand that financially we’re unable to get up and travel the globe today. However, experiencing life doesn’t have to be reliant on monetary value. A simple walk to release your thoughts or even using a journal? Instead of going home straight away you could visit a loved one that you havent seen in a while. You need a mental health break – although be sure to not procrastinate to a point that you’d have anxiety later. Kind of defeats the purpose..

I challenge you to write down realistic goals that you want to achieve this year. However, take it that one step further by writing a detailed plan on how to get there. For example, if I wanted to change my career choice. I would make a financially sensible plan to ensure that I can pay my financial commitments. Then I would gain experience through internships. You have to remember that whilst you’re striving or ‘grinding’ for that goal, you will be broke. So make sure you’ve saved before you quit. I am a firm believer in not hating the job you do, there’s nothing worse than waking up everyday resenting life. But, that’s a blog for another day!

The moral of my rambling thoughts are, channel the power of yes and enjoy your 2017 – because life is too short to not spend living.

Yours Truly;

The inner thoughts of a rambling blogger

Leave a Reply

